‘No desire if it’s not forbidden’: Dread, eroticism, and text messaging in Personal Shopper

Personal Shopper text messages, Personal Shopper eroticism, Personal Shopper horror
The message comes from an unknown number: “I know you.” As Maureen (Kristen Stewart) — a medium who is grieving over the recent death of her brother, Lewis — goes through Paris transit security, the messenger continues: “And you know me…You’re off to London.” When Maureen responds with her own text, demanding that the messenger reveal her or his identity, the answer is teasingly ambiguous: “Have a guess.”

Read the full article in The Seventh Row.